ARJE Minutes Summer Meeting ABA Conference, Little Rock Robinson Convention Center July 31, 2013

President Clay Hooten called the meeting to order at 5:04 pm.

Minutes from the spring meeting were circulated by Jackie Lamar, former secretary, and were approved by the membership.

Thanks were given to Dr. Lamar for serving as secretary. Thanks were also given to Todd Johnson for organizing the clinics today as well as to all those who presented.

Robin Ratliff made the financial report, which was approved.

Old Business

- Producing Set I Music Todd Johnson discussed how the sets have been produced, as well as the future of the two sets.
- Mr. Johnson also discussed the "Key Centers" initiative on the ASBOA General Ballot, which would go into effect in 2014-2015.
- There was a discussion about the legality of placing the original titles of the charts on the Etudes that the All-State Etudes are a contrafact of.
- President Clay Hooten suggested recommendations for clinicians for the next ABA. Theses names included Alan Baylock, Jeff Helmer, Tony Baker, Dr. Bill Prince, Ron Carter and Dave Steinmeyer.

New Business

- The ARJE Jazz Festival Report was made by Clay Hooten. He reported the Clinton Foundation would like to partner with the Festival. Tentative sites discussed were in Dardanelle and at the Clinton Presidential Library, with both sites being outdoors. The Clinton Foundation would like to do statewide advertising as well as bring in an International Jazz Artist. Currently there were 22 possible participants for the Jazz Festival. This would be a 2 day event, with both sites operating both days. Dates are April 25&26, 2014.
- An announcement was made about the 2nd Annual El Dorado Jazz Festival on April 5th. This is a non-competitive festival, but there are caption awards.
- The participants of the reading band were thanked, as well as Michael Underwood for recruiting the band.
- The Percussionist members formed a committee regarding the All-State Jazz Music.

The meeting was adjourned at 5:46

The following members were in attendance:

Justin Anders, C.E. Askew, Chuck Booker, Kevin Dunn, Brice Evans, Bobby Hagler, Brenda Harbison, Grant Harbison, Clay Hooten, Cody Jernigan, Todd Johnson, John Kloap, Rob Kloap, Jackie Lamar, Tracie Marlin, Alexander Michaels, James Pinalto, Robin Ratliff, Josh Ray, John Wilkerson, Daniel Williams, Nick Williams, and Michael Williamson

Respectfully Submitted,

Grant W. Harbison, Secretary

